Bug in PACK command

Post Reply
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7356
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Bug in PACK command

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

This is the sample:

Code: Select all

#include "Fwce.ch"


FUNCTION MAIN()

    DBCREATE( CURDIR() + "\TMPTEST", { { "TEST", "C", 10, 0 } } )

    USE ( CURDIR() + "\TMPTEST" )

    APPEND BLANK

    REPLACE FIELD -> test WITH "Test 1"

    APPEND BLANK

    REPLACE FIELD -> test WITH "Test 2"

    DELETE

    PACK

    CLOSE

    MSGINFO( "Done!" )

    RETURN NIL
It seems that PACK recovers deleted flag instead of to remove the deleted record.

Probably it is a bug in Harbour_CE. It is working fine with current Harbour from CVS.

EMG
User avatar
Richard Chidiak
Posts: 946
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Bug in PACK command

Post by Richard Chidiak »

Enrico

Pack works OK you have to add

SET DELETE ON

Regards

Richard :)
http://www.cbati.com

Uestudio
Fwh 13.05 Harbour 3.2 MSVC 2013
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7356
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Re: Bug in PACK command

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

No, SET DELETED ON is not required for PACK to work. Anyway, I just tried with SET DELETED ON and found the same result.

I'm using FWPPC 7.02.

EMG
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37485
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Enrico,

Changing your code this way:

PACK

MsgInfo( RecCount() )

It shows 1, which it seems correct
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7356
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

Yes, but now try to open TMPTEST.DBF and you will see that there are two records.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7356
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

This is the modified sample showing that the record is not removed:

Code: Select all

#include "Fwce.ch"


FUNCTION MAIN()

    SET DELETED ON

    DBCREATE( CURDIR() + "\TMPTEST", { { "TEST", "C", 10, 0 } } )

    USE ( CURDIR() + "\TMPTEST" )

    APPEND BLANK

    REPLACE FIELD -> test WITH "Test 1"

    APPEND BLANK

    REPLACE FIELD -> test WITH "Test 2"

    DELETE

    PACK

    CLOSE

    USE ( CURDIR() + "\TMPTEST" )

    MSGINFO( RECCOUNT() )

    CLOSE

    MSGINFO( "Done!" )

    RETURN NIL
EMG
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37485
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Enrico,

It is related to the SD memory card. Copy the EXE to the Pocket PC root path and it works fine there
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7356
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

Sorry, I haven't a pocket PC. How can I do the same using the emulator?

EMG
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37485
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Enrico,

Keep the mouse pressed on top of the EXE until a popup is shown, then select copy. Then select "My Device" from the top menu of the file explorer and right click and select paste. Then run it there.
Image
Image
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7356
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

Yes, this way it works. Unfortunately, this makes the emulator much less useful. I wonder if there is a way to get the program to run correctly on the storage card...

EMG
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37485
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Enrico,

Harbour uses the same functions to manage files when it runs on the memory card, so its a difference on the Windows Mobile OS
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Post Reply