if I transfered my program from 1 Pc to another I should change the positions of buttons (X,Y) . What should I do to completely get rid of that problem .
program transfers sould done regardless the screen resolution,Display dimensions .
Vital for Programs Transfers
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 334
- Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:54 pm
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Ehab,
I'm sure it is possible, but not easy. The entire dialog and every control and font would have to be resized for each screen resolution. I started working on this once, but found it to be very difficult. It would probably also slow down the displays since all that calculation would have to be done each time a dialog was displayed.
This always seems to be an irony to me. If the user wants to use a higher screen resolution, then presumably they want to fit more on the screen. But, if all the objects then resize themselves, everything takes up just as much of the screen as it did at a lower resolution. They haven't gained anything.
So the simple solution is for the user to select a screen resolution that makes things the size they want them. There are probably lots of users that don't even know they can do this.
Of course, the best solution would be to have automatic resizing that could also be turned on and off by the user.
James
I'm sure it is possible, but not easy. The entire dialog and every control and font would have to be resized for each screen resolution. I started working on this once, but found it to be very difficult. It would probably also slow down the displays since all that calculation would have to be done each time a dialog was displayed.
This always seems to be an irony to me. If the user wants to use a higher screen resolution, then presumably they want to fit more on the screen. But, if all the objects then resize themselves, everything takes up just as much of the screen as it did at a lower resolution. They haven't gained anything.
So the simple solution is for the user to select a screen resolution that makes things the size they want them. There are probably lots of users that don't even know they can do this.
Of course, the best solution would be to have automatic resizing that could also be turned on and off by the user.
James
- Dave Zowasky
- Posts: 125
- Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:28 pm
- Location: Hudson Ohio
- Contact:
Screen Ratios
screen ratios are 4:3 or 5:4 for wide.
I am aware that HD TV is using 16:9
by using the calc
480/640=.75
600/800=.75
768/1024=.75
864/1152=.75
960/1280=.75
These are 4:3 ratio
1024/1280=.8
this is 5:4 ratio
I hope this helps.
I am aware that HD TV is using 16:9
by using the calc
480/640=.75
600/800=.75
768/1024=.75
864/1152=.75
960/1280=.75
These are 4:3 ratio
1024/1280=.8
this is 5:4 ratio
I hope this helps.
Dave Zowasky
Com1 Software, Inc.
http://www.com1software.com
information@com1software.com
330 653-3771
Com1 Software, Inc.
http://www.com1software.com
information@com1software.com
330 653-3771
-
- Posts: 334
- Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:54 pm