Compiling under Vista

Post Reply
StefanHaupt
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:39 am
Location: Germany

Compiling under Vista

Post by StefanHaupt »

Dear friends,

I did my first steps compiling a project with xHarbour and BCC under Vista. If i use only the standard lib of FWH, everything works fine, but if i try to link in third party libs (like TWbrowse of Hernan), these lib are not propely linked in and i get a runtime error using the replaced functions.

I´m using xMate for compiling.

Did anyone notice this behavior ?

I compile as administrator, so there should be no problems with rights.

kind regrads
Stefan
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Stefan,

> these lib are not propely linked

why ? what errors or warnings do you get ?

> in and i get a runtime error using the replaced functions.

what runtime error ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
StefanHaupt
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:39 am
Location: Germany

Post by StefanHaupt »

Antonio,

it´s very curious. I don´t get any errors or warning messages during link.

Example:

If i link the version of hernan´s twbrowse and i´m using a variable declared in this new class i get this error:
error/BASE 1005: message not found: TWBROWSE_LHSCROLL

lHScroll cannot be found in the original TwBrowse class, so the new lib is not linked in. Every new lib, which is replacing functions from the original libs (with the same names) does not seem to work.

This is the trace.log:
*** WARNING! Function: TGRAPH in Module: TGRAPH.PRG is hidden by previously registered Module: TGRAPH.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: TSMTP in Module: tsmtp.prg is hidden by previously registered Module: TSMTP.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: TPOP3 in Module: tpop3.prg is hidden by previously registered Module: TPop3.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: TSOCKET in Module: tsocket.prg is hidden by previously registered Module: TSOCKET.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: MENUBEGIN in Module: PDMENU.PRG is hidden by previously registered Module: PDMENU.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: MENUADDITEM in Module: PDMENU.PRG is hidden by previously registered Module: PDMENU.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: MENUEND in Module: PDMENU.PRG is hidden by previously registered Module: PDMENU.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: LASTMENU in Module: PDMENU.PRG is hidden by previously registered Module: PDMENU.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: LASTITEMPOS in Module: PDMENU.PRG is hidden by previously registered Module: PDMENU.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: TMENU in Module: MENU.PRG is hidden by previously registered Module: MENU.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: MEMOEDIT in Module: memoedit.prg is hidden by previously registered Module: MemoEdit.PRG
*** WARNING! Function: GETNEW in Module: tgetint.prg is hidden by previously registered Module: TCLIPGET.PRG



The link order should be ok
.....
d:\Borland\BCC55\Lib\C0W32.OBJ, +
D:\Projekte\WIN\WT\bin\Wt32.Exe, +
D:\Projekte\WIN\WT\Debug\Wt32.Map, +
D:\FwH\LIBx\XP_Menu.Lib +
D:\FWH\Libx\TwBrw32x.LIB +
D:\FwH\LIBx\Tsbrw613.LIB +
D:\FwH\LIBx\FwTools32.Lib +
D:\FwH\LIBx\SButtonX.LIB +
D:\FWH\lib\Fivehx.lib +
D:\FWH\lib\Fivehc.lib +
d:\xHARBOUR71\Lib\rtl.lib +
....



kind regards
Stefan
StefanHaupt
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:39 am
Location: Germany

Post by StefanHaupt »

It´s seems this behavior does only occur in projects with more than 20 or 25 source files. Smaller projects or little samples are working fine.

Maybe the linker of bcc has problems under vista with to many files.

BTW, i made these tests on two different pc´s with vista business to exclude problems with the pc or vista installation.

kind regards
Stefan
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Stefan,

You may rename Hernan browse as Class THBrowse, so there are no conflicts with FWH Class TWBrowse
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
StefanHaupt
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:39 am
Location: Germany

Post by StefanHaupt »

Antonio,

yes, that would be a workaround, but would not solve the problem. And, besides a lot work (i´m replacing the menu system,too, and some other functions), this would cancel the possibility of replacing functions just by linking the changed modul.

Another point is that it´s working under XP and though it´s a 1:1 copy there are errors under Vista.

I will do some further investigations and report the results here.

kind regards
Stefan
StefanHaupt
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:39 am
Location: Germany

Post by StefanHaupt »

Ok, I did some tests over the weekend.

It really seemes to depend on the number of prg files you use. The magical number is in my case 24. With more than 24 prg files linking does not work correctly. No matter what size the files have, only the number of files is important.

Please, can anyone confirm this behaviour ?

I´m using the bcc55 compiler

kind regards
Stefan
Post Reply