SQLite3 for [x]Harbour(mdy:2007.06.22:upgrade to 3.4.0)

User avatar
ssbbs
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am

SQLite3 for [x]Harbour(mdy:2007.06.22:upgrade to 3.4.0)

Post by ssbbs »

*2007.05.22: fix release.

If you use SQLite3, you don't need any .dll and can option your DB and use SQL statement.

like SELECT * from test... INSERT INTO ... DELETE FROM ... UPDATE ...
and only one file '.db'.

reference http://www.sqlite.org

Now you can use it into your AP,
Download it from:http://www4.zzz.com.tw/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=38.

This is a SQLite3 for xHarbour/Harbour CLASS.

SQLite speed can reference http://www.sqlite.org/cvstrac/search?s= ... arison&w=1
Last edited by ssbbs on Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:48 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Post by James Bott »

Last time I looked at SQLite it only had one field type-character. Has that changed?

James
User avatar
ssbbs
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am

Post by ssbbs »

James Bott wrote:Last time I looked at SQLite it only had one field type-character. Has that changed?

James
What is 'one field type-character' ?
DO you say hbsqlite for sqlite2 ?
No, I'm rewrite it and use OOP method control it,
and up to sqlite3, so, You can use it like TMySQL ...
hua
Posts: 861
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 2:27 am

Post by hua »

James wrote:Last time I looked at SQLite it only had one field type-character. Has that changed?
You can find the data types here James.


From SQLite FAQ, "Multiple processes can have the same database open at the same time. Multiple processes can be doing a SELECT at the same time. But only one process can be making changes to the database at any moment in time, however."

Wouldn't this spell trouble for multi-user apps?

I'm interested in trying out Firebird though. Anyone already using Firebird willing to share their experience?
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Is those databases engines support ADO, then you can easily manage them using the free ADORDD :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
thefull
Posts: 720
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Post by thefull »

Antonio Linares wrote:Is those databases engines support ADO, then you can easily manage them using the free ADORDD :-)
But... ADORDD is only for Windows.
SqliTe3 is multiplataform..

Regards.
Rafa Carmona
User avatar
thefull
Posts: 720
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour

Post by thefull »

Please, you confirm type license ,it is GPL ?

I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.
Saludos
Rafa Carmona ( rafa.thefullARROBAgmail.com___quitalineas__)
User avatar
ssbbs
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am

Post by ssbbs »

Antonio Linares wrote:Is those databases engines support ADO, then you can easily manage them using the free ADORDD :-)
aboriginal ADO for SQLite3 is need money.
If use ADO -> ODBC32 -> SQLite3 is free
User avatar
ssbbs
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am

Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour

Post by ssbbs »

thefull wrote:I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.
My post is for SQLite 3.3.17 (lastnew). :D
User avatar
thefull
Posts: 720
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour

Post by thefull »

ssbbs wrote:
thefull wrote:I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.
My post is for SQLite 3.3.17 (lastnew). :D
Welll, i accept 3.X.X, but you not respond a my question....
Is it FREE or NOT ?

Thank.
Saludos
Rafa Carmona ( rafa.thefullARROBAgmail.com___quitalineas__)
User avatar
ssbbs
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am

Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour

Post by ssbbs »

thefull wrote:
ssbbs wrote:
thefull wrote:I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.
My post is for SQLite 3.3.17 (lastnew). :D
Welll, i accept 3.X.X, but you not respond a my question....
Is it FREE or NOT ?

Thank.
Yes, it is freeware.
You can use it into your AP and don't pay money!! :lol:
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Post by James Bott »

ssbbs,

>From SQLite FAQ, "Multiple processes can have the same database open at the same time. Multiple processes can be doing a SELECT at the same time. But only one process can be making changes to the database at any moment in time, however."

>Wouldn't this spell trouble for multi-user apps?

It is an issue, but it doesn't mean that it can't be used for a multiuser app. It does lock the entire database to make updates (more like makes it readonly). So, two users cannot make updates at exactly the same time, but this only takes a split second. For small numbers of users this may not be an issue at all.

So for smaller numbers of users it provides many advantages, some of which are (as you already mentioned) that all the data resides in one file and there is no separate setup or maintenance required. This makes it good for off-the-self applications for small companies that don't have full-time IT people.

You can use standard SQL syntax. And now that it supports numeric and blobs it looks even more interesting.

And the price is right! Free and royalty-free.

James
User avatar
ssbbs
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am

Post by ssbbs »

James Bott wrote: It is an issue, but it doesn't mean that it can't be used for a multiuser app. It does lock the entire database to make updates (more like makes it readonly). So, two users cannot make updates at exactly the same time, but this only takes a split second. For small numbers of users this may not be an issue at all.
full reference:http://www.sqlite.org/faq.html#q7

YES!! SQLite3 can be use on multi-user,
But have some limit you must to deference.

SQLite3 have not server program to manage .DB,
So, it fix local .DB like 'DBF' to lock/unlock.

May be you have listen firebird embed, it's only one people can access it.
SQLite can let you access via multi-user but option like DBF.

I think this is enough!!
User avatar
José Luis Sánchez
Posts: 484
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Novelda - Alicante - España
Contact:

Post by José Luis Sánchez »

Hello:
Does your lib manage sqlite without any DLL,or I have to download the DLL version of Sqlite ?

Regards from Spain,
User avatar
ssbbs
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:03 am

Post by ssbbs »

José Luis Sánchez wrote:Hello:
Does your lib manage sqlite without any DLL,or I have to download the DLL version of Sqlite ?
No!! Doesn't need any '.DLL'.
It's clean!!
Post Reply