cGetFiles32( ) and Vista

Post Reply
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2536
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Contact:

cGetFiles32( ) and Vista

Post by TimStone »

Here is a new one. I use cGetFiles32( ) to obtain the path/name of a file which is then recorded by my program for future reference.

I have not had any problems in all previous OS versions of Windows, but I found a new twist with Vista.

I have an interface to Quickbooks, and to initialize it the first time from my application, QB has to be running, and the company file must be open. No problem so far....

Then the application must know the location of the company file, so I call cGetFiles32( ) to obtain the name which is then stored in the registry for future calls by the application when posting to QB. Unfortunately, because QB has the file open, the Vista OS reports back that the file is already opened, and it says to select another file or close the file. It will not return the value as a result !

Does anyone have thoughts on how this can be addressed ?

Do we love Vista yet ?

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Tim,

You should use cGetFile() instead of cGetFile32() which it is for 16 bits apps only
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2536
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Contact:

cGetFile32( )

Post by TimStone »

cGetFile32( ) is for 16 bit programs ? Now that is confusing ....

I thought I changed to that because cGetFile( ) was not working with network locations.

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
Post Reply