FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post Reply
User avatar
mariordz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Ciudad de México

FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by mariordz »

Good day fiveWINERS, I am facing an error trying to use FW_AdoImportFromDBF, given the code:

Code: Select all

Function importDBF  
    local oCn, oRs
    
    xString := ('Provider='+xPROVIDER+';Data Source='+xSOURCE+';Initial Catalog='+xCATALOGA+';User Id='+xUSERID+';Password='+xPASSWORD )
   oCn := CREATEOBJECT("ADODB.Connection")
        
    TRY
    oCn:Open(xString)
    catch oErr
        ?"Unable to read the database"
        return(.F.)
    END TRY
    TRY
        FW_AdoImportFromDBF( oCn,"&dbtest" )
    catch oErr
        ?"Unable to insert information"
        return(.F.)
    END TRY
    ?"Insert successful"
       oCn:Close()
return nil
The table is created in SQL, but empty, I got the error:
Image

I am using
FWH 16.04
Harbour bcc77
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

Please try

Code: Select all

function importDBF 

   local oCn
   
   oCn   := FW_OpenAdoConnection( { "MSSQL", xSOURCE, xCATALOG, xUSERID, xPASSWORD }, .t. )
   if oCn == nil
      ? "Failed to connect"
      return .f.
   endif
   
   if FW_AdoImportFromDBF( oCn, cDbfFileName )
      ? "Imported"
   else
      ? "Import Fail"
   endif
   
   oCn:Close()

return nil
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
mariordz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Ciudad de México

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by mariordz »

Mr. Rao, thanks for your response, unfortunatelly the error remains. The DBF's structure seems very simple to me, but I am sharing it, perhaps you see something in it.

This is the DBF structure
Image

And this is the SQL structure, I see no important differences.
As a comment I always use smalldatetime when designing tables in SQL but I don't think it is the cause of the problem.
Image
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

please send your dbf to me

nageswaragunupudi@gmail.com
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

You seem to be using FWH1604. I do not have that version with me. I tried with even an older version FWH1602.

We provide an MSSQL server in the cloud for a demonstration to our users. In the following sample, we connect to this demo server in the cloud and test exporting your DBF.

Our test program:

Code: Select all

#include "fivewin.ch"

REQUEST DBFCDX

function Main()

   local oCn, oRs, lOk

   MsgRun( "Connecting to MSSQL Cloud Server", FWVERSION, { || ;
      oCn := FW_OpenAdoConnection( { "MSSQL", "208.91.198.196", "gnraore3_", "fwhmsdemo", "fwh@2000#" }, .T. ) ;
      } )

   if oCn == nil
      ? "Connect Fail"
      return nil
   else
      ? "Connected"
   endif

   // Drop the tables if exists
   TRY
      oCn:Execute( "DROP TABLE ACCESOIT" )
   CATCH
   END
   //
   MsgRun( "Importing DBF to MSSQL", FWVERSION, { || ;
      lOK := FW_AdoImportFromDBF( oCn, "ACCESOIT.DBF" ) ;
      } )
   if lOK
      oRs   := FW_OpenRecordSet( oCn, "ACCESOIT" )
      XBROWSER oRs
   else
      ? "Import Fail"
   endif

   oCn:Close()

return nil
 
Image

As you can see, the import worked perfectly.

Please copy the above program to fwh\samples folder without any changes and build it with buildx.bat or buildh.bat. It worked here and it SHOULD work for you too there.

After testing the program without changes, then you substitute your server name and credentials and try again. It has to work.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
mariordz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Ciudad de México

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by mariordz »

Mr. Rao, I will try and let you know if it works.
User avatar
mariordz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Ciudad de México

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by mariordz »

Mr. Rao, I tested the program and it worked perfectly on the cloud server, it connects, creates and fills teh table, on my server on the other hand it did not work.

In order to see what the problem was I eliminated all the fields that contained dates, tried again and now it worked, so it obvoiusly has something to do with the way my SQl server handles the dates.

When inserting dates using sql sentences I use the following:

Code: Select all

cCadsql0:="insert into table (fecha1,fecha2) values ('23/09/2019','12/12/2019')"
    
oRs := TOleAuto():New( "ADODB.Recordset" ) 
oRs:CursorType := 1 // opendkeyset 
oRs:CursorLocation := 3 // local cache 
oRs:LockType := 3 // lockoportunistic
    
TRY
    cursorwait()
    oRS:Open( cCadSql0,'Provider='+xPROVIDER+';Data Source='+xSOURCE+';Initial Catalog='+xCATALOGA+';User Id='+xUSERID+';Password='+xPASSWORD ) 
                
    CATCH oErr 
        MsgInfo( "Error inserting dates" ) 
        RETURN(.F.) 
    END TRY
This way the dates are saved without a problem.

I have tested with other DBF that has no dates and the impor works well.
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

Mr. Rao, I tested the program and it worked perfectly on the cloud server, it connects, creates and fills teh table, on my server on the other hand it did not work.
When you converted my sample to use your server, please change this line only

Code: Select all

      oCn := FW_OpenAdoConnection( { "MSSQL", "208.91.198.196", "gnraore3_", "fwhmsdemo", "fwh@2000#" }, .T. ) ;
 
Substitute your values in the FW_OpenAdoConnection function in the above line.
Do not change anything else.

Plese do not use " oCn := CREATEOBJECT("ADODB.Connection")"

Can you try as I said?
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
mariordz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Ciudad de México

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by mariordz »

Yes Mr. Rao, I only changed the values for the sentence to go to my server changing nothing else, the line is this:

Code: Select all

MsgRun( "Connecting to MSSQL Cloud Server", FWVERSION, { || ;
          oCn := FW_OpenAdoConnection( { "MSSQL", "MyServer", "MyTable", "Myuser", "MyPassword" }, .T. ) ;
          } )
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

FWH ADO functions convert dates for MSSQL like this:

Code: Select all

"insert into table (fecha1,fecha2) values ('2019-09-23','2019-12-12')"
Can you try if this format is working on your MSSQL server?
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
mariordz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Ciudad de México

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by mariordz »

Mr. Rao, it works:

Image
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

If so, the above sample should work with dates also.
Thinking ...
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
mariordz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Ciudad de México

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by mariordz »

Mr. Rao, I kept trying to understand the reason I got the problem and my conclusion is:

The field type in SQL should be "date", I noticed that when importing DBF's the date type field created in SQL is "datetime", I think it is pointless to generate this type of field due to the fact that DBF always will have simple date information in date data type fields (unless you especifically state the field has to save the date and time, in wich case it will be a text type field).

I don´t mean to be rude and I apologize if it sounds like that, perhaps is my limited English skills.
User avatar
mariordz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Ciudad de México

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by mariordz »

Mr. Rao and all that might find this useful, I didn´t give up with this, studied the "adofunc.prg" file and changed the line:

Code: Select all

         if snDbms == DB_MSSQL
            cSql  += " DateTime"  // Date dataype not compat with older servers
                                       // Even with latest providers there are some issues in usage
And changed it like this:

Code: Select all

         if snDbms == DB_MSSQL
            cSql  += " DATE"  // Date dataype not compat with older servers
                                       // Even with latest providers there are some issues in usage
Then added adofunc.prg to my project and now the DBF's are imported properly, I hope it helps other with the same problem.

Thanks for the help provided.
User avatar
mariordz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Ciudad de México

Re: FW_AdoImportFromDBF error

Post by mariordz »

Good morning Mr. Rao, I thought I had this problem solved, but suddenly the error is back, reading here an there I found that the error I am getting refers to a timeout from the client side, I was wondering if you know where I can define this timeout parameter or where I can find it (if such a parameter exists).

Code: Select all

Question: A client is sending a query to a SQL Server . After 30 seconds a message appears on the SQL Server trace:

User error message : The statement has been terminated

If  I run the code from SSMS, it completes successfully. Could you explain how I can fix this problem?

Answer: SQL Server runs queries  with no timeout.  The  query timeout error is occurring  on the client side.  When a command exceeds the timeout duration,  the client API sends an attention signal to SQL Server to cancel the executing query.
The error is the same (3621) I noticed that the table is created and it starts importing, but for some reason it stops at 1800 records, wheter if I have a table with 2,000 or 25,000 records.
Post Reply