xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
This original post was about edits with a browse. I was responding to that post with a method I use to make editing of a browse list easier and faster. It's a concept my clients really appreciate. I really don't see how that relates to your question following it. I was strictly addressing the question of edit controls and a faster means of moving through a lot of data. It has absolutely no relationship to the database ( though I do use tdatabase / tdata / trecord ) since I built the same concept back with Clipper and DOS ... and in fact, it probably dates all the way back to dBase II ...
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
Mr Rao
Thanks for the demo program,yes that is what I was after
On a GET I tried using VAR oRec:Fieldget() but I get a "invalid value" compiler error
I tried using field number and field name as a parameter
Yet this method works ok for MSGINFO(orec:fieldget(2)) or MSGINFO(orec:fieldget("FIRST"))
Not a problem as I will use oRec:adata[nFieldNumber][2]
Thanks
Peter
Thanks for the demo program,yes that is what I was after
On a GET I tried using VAR oRec:Fieldget() but I get a "invalid value" compiler error
I tried using field number and field name as a parameter
Yet this method works ok for MSGINFO(orec:fieldget(2)) or MSGINFO(orec:fieldget("FIRST"))
Not a problem as I will use oRec:adata[nFieldNumber][2]
Thanks
Peter
- nageswaragunupudi
- Posts: 8017
- Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
- Location: India
- Contact:
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
They are not safe.
Please use oRec:fieldname
When we made this class this is how we expect the usage to be.
Please use oRec:fieldname
When we made this class this is how we expect the usage to be.
Regards
G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
Hi Tim,
The screen design is good specially the Icon's on the Title bars. May I ask you to provide the code ( Just Toolbar ) along with Icons ? Thanks in advance...!
Thanks
Shridhar
The screen design is good specially the Icon's on the Title bars. May I ask you to provide the code ( Just Toolbar ) along with Icons ? Thanks in advance...!
Thanks
Shridhar
Thanks
Shridhar
FWH 19.12, BCC 7 32 bit, MariaDB
Shridhar
FWH 19.12, BCC 7 32 bit, MariaDB
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
Mr Rao
When when adding a new record in a lot of cases the blank fields will need to be auto filled
with data from the previous edit dialog.So I was going to make a copy of oRec:Data and on the
new blank record overwrite the current oRec:aData and oRec:aOrg with data from the copy.
Is there a better way of doing this ?
Regards
Peter
When when adding a new record in a lot of cases the blank fields will need to be auto filled
with data from the previous edit dialog.So I was going to make a copy of oRec:Data and on the
new blank record overwrite the current oRec:aData and oRec:aOrg with data from the copy.
Is there a better way of doing this ?
Regards
Peter
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
All of my coding uses an .RC file for screens. The bar is standard FWH.
Control in .rc file:
Code for the button bar:
You can also define the menus for buttons ... and it all works quite smoothly. You will notice that I'm using data objects. I use tData / tRecord. The browse references the file as a tData object. A tRecord object is created, and each time a new record is highlighted, the :load() places the values of that record into that object. The gets all reference the tRecord object. It is very smooth.
You can add as many buttons as you wish
The icons are all created inhouse for this application, and are proprietary so I can't post them. However, I use Axialis Icon Workshop to create them, and save them as .bmp files ( 32x32 ) then include them all in the .rc file.
Control in .rc file:
Code: Select all
CONTROL "", 100, "TBar", 0|WS_CHILD|WS_VISIBLE, 0,0, 660, 30
Code: Select all
// Define the button bar
REDEFINE BUTTONBAR oBarInv ID 100 SIZE 60,55 OF oDiw 2015
oBarInv:bClrGrad := aPubGrad
DEFINE BUTTON oBtn1 OF oBarInv RESOURCE "HRADD" PROMPT "Add" TOOLTIP "Add a new part record" ;
ACTION ( oLbxin:gobottom(), ::oInventory:AddNewPart(), oLbxin:refresh( ),;
::oPart:load(), oDiw:update( ), oNum:setfocus( ) ) GROUP LABEL "Parts"
DEFINE BUTTON oBtn2 OF oBarInv RESOURCE "HRSAVE" PROMPT "Save" TOOLTIP "Save this record" ;
ACTION ( ::oPart:save( ), oLbxin:refresh(), oDiw:update( ), oLbxin:setfocus( ), oLbxin:skip(0) )
DEFINE BUTTON oBtn4 OF oBarInv RESOURCE "HRDELETE" PROMPT "Delete" TOOLTIP "Delete the selected part";
ACTION ( ::oInventory:DeletePart( ), oLbxin:skip(1), ::oPart:load(), oDiw:update(), oLbxin:setfocus( ) ) ;
//. Add in more buttons here
//
DEFINE BUTTON oBtn0 OF oBarInv RESOURCE "HRHELP" PROMPT "Help" TOOLTIP "OnLine Manual" ;
ACTION WinExec( "hh asw10.chm" ) GROUP BTNRIGHT
DEFINE BUTTON oBtn7 OF oBarInv RESOURCE "HREXIT" PROMPT "Exit" TOOLTIP "Exit inventory" ;
ACTION ( oDiw:end( ), ::oInventory:end( ) ) BTNRIGHT
You can add as many buttons as you wish
The icons are all created inhouse for this application, and are proprietary so I can't post them. However, I use Axialis Icon Workshop to create them, and save them as .bmp files ( 32x32 ) then include them all in the .rc file.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
- nageswaragunupudi
- Posts: 8017
- Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
- Location: India
- Contact:
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
For prefilling data you may consider the methods:reds wrote:Mr Rao
When when adding a new record in a lot of cases the blank fields will need to be auto filled
with data from the previous edit dialog.So I was going to make a copy of oRec:Data and on the
new blank record overwrite the current oRec:aData and oRec:aOrg with data from the copy.
Is there a better way of doing this ?
Regards
Peter
1) oRec:Copy() and oRec:Paste()
2) oRec:CopyFrom( oOtherRec )
3) oRec:SetDefault( cField, uValue, [lCanModify] )
or
oRec:SetDefault( { { field, value},....} )
SetDefaut values are used only when appending
For example, you can try this:
Code: Select all
@ 200,160 BTNBMP oBtn RESOURCE FWBitmap( "new16" ) SIZE 32,32 PIXEL OF oDlg FLAT TOOLTIP "New" ;
WHEN !Empty( oRec:RecNo ) ACTION ( oRec:Copy(),oRec:Load( .t. ),oRec:Paste(), oDlg:Update() )
Regards
G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
Thanks for that I will take a look at these
On your example code I want to replace the checkbox and show a bitmap file as below but it never changes from the intial setting.
Also I would like to use the toggle switch (green for on) bitmap that is used in the browser default edit dialog,where
is this located.
Thanks
Peter
On your example code I want to replace the checkbox and show a bitmap file as below but it never changes from the intial setting.
Also I would like to use the toggle switch (green for on) bitmap that is used in the browser default edit dialog,where
is this located.
Thanks
Peter
Code: Select all
@ 100,190 BTNBMP NOBORDER OF oDlg SIZE 30,15;
FILE IIF( oRec:MARRIED, "..\bitmaps\on.bmp", "..\bitmaps\off.bmp" ) ;
ACTION ( oRec:MARRIED := ! oRec:MARRIED, ;
::SetImages( IIF( oRec:MARRIED, "..\bitmaps\on.bmp", "..\bitmaps\off.bmp" ) ) ) UPDATE
// @ 100,200 CHECKBOX oRec:Married PROMPT "" SIZE 26,26 PIXEL OF oDlg UPDATE
- nageswaragunupudi
- Posts: 8017
- Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
- Location: India
- Contact:
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
That is not a bitmap. It is a control, SWITCH control. Please see fivewin.ch for usage.Also I would like to use the toggle switch (green for on) bitmap that is used in the browser default edit dialog,where
is this located.
In the example, I posted above, instead of checkbox, use this code:
Code: Select all
@ 103,180 SWITCH oRec:Married SIZE 40,18 PIXEL OF oDlg UPDATE OVALSTYLE BORDERSIZE 1 THUMBSIZE 1
Regards
G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
Any idea why the bitmap doesn't refresh with new value
Thanks for Switch info,though doesn't appear to be setup to run with a resource file
Regards
Peter
Thanks for Switch info,though doesn't appear to be setup to run with a resource file
Regards
Peter
- nageswaragunupudi
- Posts: 8017
- Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
- Location: India
- Contact:
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
Please try this:
Code: Select all
@ 100,190 BTNBMP oBtn ;
FILE "c:\fwh\bitmaps\on.bmp", nil, "c:\fwh\bitmaps\off.bmp" ;
SIZE 26,26 PIXEL OF oDlg CENTER NOBORDER UPDATE ;
ACTION ( oRec:Married := !oRec:Married, ::Refresh() )
oBtn:bBmpNo := { || If( oRec:Married, 1, 3 ) }
Regards
G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
Re: xBrowse edit dialog and navigation
Belated thanks,now working fine
Regards
Peter
Regards
Peter