Ribbonbar getting black
Ribbonbar getting black
Hi guys,
I'm having a problem with my customers who use Windows 7. The Ribbon Bar is getting black (look the image bellow) do youknow why ?
I'm having a problem with my customers who use Windows 7. The Ribbon Bar is getting black (look the image bellow) do youknow why ?
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
Possibly a memory leak. I have seen things like this before.
If you exit the program, then reload it, does the problem go away?
James
If you exit the program, then reload it, does the problem go away?
James
FWH 18.05/xHarbour 1.2.3/BCC7/Windows 10
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
Yes, you are right!
However, it's happening only with Windows 7 users. What could I do to prevent this?
However, it's happening only with Windows 7 users. What could I do to prevent this?
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
Vilian,
Please use FWH function SetResDebug() as explained here:
http://wiki.fivetechsoft.com/doku.php?i ... etresdebug
Please use FWH function SetResDebug() as explained here:
http://wiki.fivetechsoft.com/doku.php?i ... etresdebug
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
Vilian,
The way you fix it is to find all unreleased objects and end them. Use the method the Antonio provided a link to.
I don't know why it is only happening on Windows 7. Maybe those pc's have less memory, or there is a bug in Win 7 itself. Either way you still need to end all the resources.
The way you fix it is to find all unreleased objects and end them. Use the method the Antonio provided a link to.
I don't know why it is only happening on Windows 7. Maybe those pc's have less memory, or there is a bug in Win 7 itself. Either way you still need to end all the resources.
FWH 18.05/xHarbour 1.2.3/BCC7/Windows 10
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
Thank you James,
I'm testing...
I'm testing...
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
I don't understand... I made this:
But everything shown is only this:
Code: Select all
SetResDebug( .T. )
....
My Code
.....
FErase( "chekres.txt" )
CheckRes()
WinExec( "notepad checkres.txt" )
But everything shown is only this:
Code: Select all
30/08/2018 09:45:51: C:\VFATEC\SFPDES\SFP.EXE -- ===================================================================================
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
Vilian,
Well that is a good sign. However, you can't just open the app, then close it to find resource leaks (if that is what you did). You have to give the software a real-world workout, trying all the screens and functions to really see if there is an issue. Best would be if you can run it under Windows 7 and get the toolbar to turn black--then you know you have done enough to find the leak.
James
Well that is a good sign. However, you can't just open the app, then close it to find resource leaks (if that is what you did). You have to give the software a real-world workout, trying all the screens and functions to really see if there is an issue. Best would be if you can run it under Windows 7 and get the toolbar to turn black--then you know you have done enough to find the leak.
James
FWH 18.05/xHarbour 1.2.3/BCC7/Windows 10
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
James,
I only closed the app after ribbon bar started to get black.
I only closed the app after ribbon bar started to get black.
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
I am away from my computer right now. When I get back I have a few things I want to look up. I'll let you know.
FWH 18.05/xHarbour 1.2.3/BCC7/Windows 10
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
Vilian,
OK, I ran a test program just to make sure that checkRes() is working.
And here is the result.
08/30/18 14:16:00: C:\Users\James\Documents\Projects\CheckRes\TestCheckRes.exe -- FONT,-1056306525,MAIN(20)
As you can see, the font is reported as being unreleased.
I am using a fairly old copy of FWH (16.04) so you should run the test program above to make sure it also detects the unreleased font with your version of FWH.
If checkRes() seems to be working, then I would suggest running the Windows Task Manager and watching the memory as you test the program. Record the memory used when the program is first started, then run it until the toolbar turns black and record the memory use again. You could also watch what happens when you are using the app to see if the memory used goes up on certain processes.
That should keep you busy for awhile.
James
OK, I ran a test program just to make sure that checkRes() is working.
Code: Select all
#include "fivewin.ch"
Function Main()
local oDlg, oFont
setResDebug(.t.)
ferase("checkres.txt")
define font oFont name "Arial" size 0,-10
define dialog oDlg
activate dialog oDlg
//oFont:end() // don't destroy oFont for test
checkres()
return nil
08/30/18 14:16:00: C:\Users\James\Documents\Projects\CheckRes\TestCheckRes.exe -- FONT,-1056306525,MAIN(20)
As you can see, the font is reported as being unreleased.
I am using a fairly old copy of FWH (16.04) so you should run the test program above to make sure it also detects the unreleased font with your version of FWH.
If checkRes() seems to be working, then I would suggest running the Windows Task Manager and watching the memory as you test the program. Record the memory used when the program is first started, then run it until the toolbar turns black and record the memory use again. You could also watch what happens when you are using the app to see if the memory used goes up on certain processes.
That should keep you busy for awhile.
James
FWH 18.05/xHarbour 1.2.3/BCC7/Windows 10
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
Indeed, the first thing is to use the technique indicated previously by Antonio
In addition, you can use this tool
https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/gdi_handles.html
In addition, you can use this tool
https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/gdi_handles.html
C. Navarro
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
Si alguien te dice que algo no se puede hacer, recuerda que esta hablando de sus limitaciones, no de las tuyas.
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
Si alguien te dice que algo no se puede hacer, recuerda que esta hablando de sus limitaciones, no de las tuyas.
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
James,
I really have so much care with resources and good practises, as a result checkres() is returning an empty string. I will try the tool recommend by Cnavarro.
I really have so much care with resources and good practises, as a result checkres() is returning an empty string. I will try the tool recommend by Cnavarro.
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
Vilian,
Any updates? Did you find a solution?
Any updates? Did you find a solution?
FWH 18.05/xHarbour 1.2.3/BCC7/Windows 10
Re: Ribbonbar getting black
Hi James,
Nothing yet. Checkres() Always is returning na empty string, so by this way i didn't find a solution.
Nothing yet. Checkres() Always is returning na empty string, so by this way i didn't find a solution.