Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
It's solved.
Thanks, Antonio.
Thanks, Antonio.
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
glad to hear that
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Is there any way that I can force Harbour to write its warnings to a text file?
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Don,
Have you tried redirecting its output ?
harbour.exe /n tes.prg > comp.log
Have you tried redirecting its output ?
harbour.exe /n tes.prg > comp.log
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Yes, I did.
$(HBDIR)bin\harbour $< /n /w2 /o$(CSRCDIR) /i$(FWDIR)include;$(HBDIR)include > Warnings.log
The actual warnings scroll to the screen.
This is what appears in Warnings.log:
$(HBDIR)bin\harbour $< /n /w2 /o$(CSRCDIR) /i$(FWDIR)include;$(HBDIR)include > Warnings.log
The actual warnings scroll to the screen.
This is what appears in Warnings.log:
Code: Select all
Harbour 3.2.0dev (Rev. 18881)
Copyright (c) 1999-2013, http://harbour-project.org/
Compiling 'e:\aba\aba_4\Locals.prg'...
100
200
300
100
100
100
100
200
300
400
500
600
100
200
100
200
100
200
100
200
300
400
500
600
700
800
900
1000
1100
1200
1300
1400
1500
1600
1700
100
100
100
100
200
100
200
300
400
500
600
700
800
900
1000
1100
1200
1300
1400
1500
1600
1700
Lines 7024, Functions/Procedures 29
Generating C source output to 'e:\aba\aba_4\csrc\Locals.c'... Done.
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Don,
I was able to redirect that output in Harbour but had to change some code in harbour compiler.
In other words, to have that, you need a non standard Harbour. Or it can be reported to the Harbour developers list and wait for them to attend your request.
I was able to redirect that output in Harbour but had to change some code in harbour compiler.
In other words, to have that, you need a non standard Harbour. Or it can be reported to the Harbour developers list and wait for them to attend your request.
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
My goodness, Antonio, I hadn't expected you to go to all that effort. Thank you!
If it makes sense to add the ability to direct warnings to a text file to future versions of Harbour, please do. In the meantime I'll find another way of capturing the warnings.
Again, thanks for your help.
Saludos,
Don
If it makes sense to add the ability to direct warnings to a text file to future versions of Harbour, please do. In the meantime I'll find another way of capturing the warnings.
Again, thanks for your help.
Saludos,
Don
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Don,
No problem, I already had done it for my own needs in the past
There is a standard way in Harbour to redirect those outputs, but there was no agreement to change its behavior (suplying a parameter from the command line, etc)
Anyhow, if we need it, you can have it
No problem, I already had done it for my own needs in the past
There is a standard way in Harbour to redirect those outputs, but there was no agreement to change its behavior (suplying a parameter from the command line, etc)
Anyhow, if we need it, you can have it
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Yes, Antonio, I would love to have that feature as soon as it is available.
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Don,
I have asked it on the Harbour devel list to wait for an "official" answer
https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr ... 6dwjM2G-S0
Anyhow, I found my notes about the research that I did for it:
I have asked it on the Harbour devel list to wait for an "official" answer
https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr ... 6dwjM2G-S0
Anyhow, I found my notes about the research that I did for it:
Code: Select all
In harbour/src/compiler/hbmain.c:
static void * pOutStdFunc = NULL;
static void * pOutErrFunc = NULL;
void setOutStd( void * p )
{
pOutStdFunc = p;
}
void setOutErr( void * p )
{
pOutErrFunc = p;
}
en int hb_compMainExt():
HB_COMP_PARAM->pOutPath = NULL;
if( pOutStdFunc )
HB_COMP_PARAM->outStdFunc = pOutStdFunc;
if( pOutErrFunc )
HB_COMP_PARAM->outErrFunc = pOutErrFunc;
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Don,
On the Harbour list a "tee" utility was suggested:
http://www.commandline.co.uk/mtee/index.html
but I have tested it here (unless I did it wrong) and it does not redirect the Harbour warnings...
On the Harbour list a "tee" utility was suggested:
http://www.commandline.co.uk/mtee/index.html
but I have tested it here (unless I did it wrong) and it does not redirect the Harbour warnings...
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
I couldn't make it work either, Antonio.
For now I'm just going to be content to wait for the official Harbour version.
For now I'm just going to be content to wait for the official Harbour version.
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Don,
I found a really easy way to redirect the warnings!
As easy as:
harbour -n -I... myapp 2>warnings.log
@type warnings.log
Please notice that 2 and > have to be together. so this is valid "2> warnings.log" but this will not work: "2 > warnings.log"
We have modified FWH samples\buildh.bat so from now on, warnings will be redirected to warnings.log
I found a really easy way to redirect the warnings!
As easy as:
harbour -n -I... myapp 2>warnings.log
@type warnings.log
Please notice that 2 and > have to be together. so this is valid "2> warnings.log" but this will not work: "2 > warnings.log"
We have modified FWH samples\buildh.bat so from now on, warnings will be redirected to warnings.log
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Brilliant, Antonio, it worked!
I had tried that but with the space btw the '2' and '>.'
Thanks!
I had tried that but with the space btw the '2' and '>.'
Thanks!
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010
Don,
All the problems you have had setting up a new compiler, illustrate why it is important to start out with just a simple "Hello World" program instead of a complex one. This eliminates all the possible issues with your complex program so you only have to deal with issues with the new compiler.
Regards,
James
Experience is the best teacher. Unfortunately, the tuition is very expensive. -Ben Franklin
All the problems you have had setting up a new compiler, illustrate why it is important to start out with just a simple "Hello World" program instead of a complex one. This eliminates all the possible issues with your complex program so you only have to deal with issues with the new compiler.
Regards,
James
Experience is the best teacher. Unfortunately, the tuition is very expensive. -Ben Franklin