Network connection

User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Network connection

Post by cdmmaui »

Is it possible to confirm connection to network withing FWPPC?
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Darrell,

If you mean local network, then you may check for a file existence:

if File( "\\machine\path\filename" )

For Internet access, you may use:

Function IsInternet()
WSAStartup()
RETURN GetHostByName( "www.microsoft.com" ) != "0.0.0.0"
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Post by cdmmaui »

Thank you Antonio
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Post by cdmmaui »

Antonio,

I got a FWPPC GPF occurred. Fix GPFStack() when using IsInternet function below.
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Post by cdmmaui »

Antonio,

The GPF was caused by the WSAStartup() function. I removed it and I did not get the GPF. Is this function required?
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Darrell,

Is IsInternet() working without it ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Post by cdmmaui »

Hi Antonio,

No, it returns IP 0.0.0.0; however the internet is working and my FWPPC application sees host \\cargo\data. Should GetHostByName() use 'cargo' or '\\cargo'?

Thank you,
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

"\\" is just for other machines on the LAN.

Please add this code to your PRG:

Code: Select all

#pragma BEGINDUMP

#include <hbapi.h>
#include <WinSock2.h>

HB_FUNC( WSASTARTUP )
{
   static WSADATA wsa;

   hb_retni( WSAStartup( 0x202, &wsa ) );
}

#pragma ENDDUMP
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Post by cdmmaui »

Antonio,

Got the following error when trying to build application.

FiveCEC.lib(WINSOCK.obj) : error LNK2005: HB_FUN_WSASTARTUP already defined in CDM-NET.obj
FiveCEC.lib(WINSOCK.obj) : warning LNK4006: HB_FUN_WSASTARTUP already defined in CDM-NET.obj; second definition ignored
Creating library CDM-NET.lib and object CDM-NET.exp
CDM-NET.exe : fatal error LNK1169: one or more multiply defined symbols found
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Darrell,

use this flag for link.exe: /force:MULTIPLE
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Post by cdmmaui »

Antonio,
I am getting a fatal application error.
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Darrel,

What FWPPC build are you using ? Please tell me the dates of the libraries, thanks
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Post by cdmmaui »

fivece.lib 08/26/2007 @ 23:24
fivecec.lib 08/26/2007 @ 23:20
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by Antonio Linares »

Darrell,

This Test.prg works fine here with no GPFs. Please try it, thanks:

Code: Select all

function Main()

   MsgInfo( IsInternet() )

return nil

Function IsInternet() 
WSAStartup() 
RETURN GetHostByName( "www.microsoft.com" ) != "0.0.0.0"
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Otto
Posts: 4470
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Network connection

Post by Otto »

Hello Antonio,
this solution is working but if there is no network you get for a very long time a frozen systembefore an error is returned.
Many useres press the reset button because they think the system is gone down.
Maybe there is a better solution?
Thanks in advance
Otto


If you mean local network, then you may check for a file existence:

if File( "\\machine\path\filename" )
********************************************************************
mod harbour - Vamos a la conquista de la Web
modharbour.org

********************************************************************
Post Reply