Page 1 of 1

Focus Problem

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 1:11 am
by Colin Haig
To All

I have a window with a buttonbar and one of the buttons is a find button ,
when that is activated a get on the buttonbar is made visible and as the users types in letters an incremental search is done and the browse is refreshed on each keypress - when the enter key is pressed the get is
hidden and the focus is set to the browse - the browse does get focus but them loses it and I cant find which control or if any control has focus - I hit the tab key but there is movement on the other controls.


DEFINE BUTTON oBtn5 of oBar RESOURCE "EYE" ;
FLAT ;
PROMPT 'Find' ;
ACTION(cCode := space(5),oCode:Top(),oCust:SetPos(0),oCust:Show(),oCust:SetFocus());
TOOLTIP('Find Customer')

@ 15,450 GET oCust VAR cCode picture '@!' UPDATE of oBar SIZE 80,20 ;
on change(if(oCust:nLastKey>32,chr(oCust:nLastKey),""),self:cargo:seek(trim(oCust:cText)),;
if(oCust:nLastkey==13,(oCust:Hide(),oLbx:SetFocus(),oLbx:GoToCol(2)),oLbx:Refresh())) ;
FONT oFont ;
PIXEL
oCust:cargo := oCode

Thanks for any ideas

Regards

Colin

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:29 am
by James Bott
Colin,

I would suggest taking a different approach. Just leave the GET visible and do the search when the users type something in. This is common behavior.

James

Focus

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 4:34 am
by Colin Haig
Hi James

I have tried leaving the get visible but it did not make any difference -
I have even added a delay after the focus goes to the browse and I can
see the browse get focus and then after the delay it loses focus - I dont what is causing the browse to lose focus.

Regards

Colin

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 5:17 am
by James Bott
Colin,

I think we need a small self-contained example to be able to see the problem.

James

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 8:56 am
by Antonio Linares
Colin,

Try to add this code at the end of the ON CHANGE clause of the GET:

oCust:oJump := oLbx

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 10:40 am
by Colin Haig
Hi Antonio

Thanks that worked great - still cant understand why the browse
lost focus and what control the focus went to.

Are you using parallels on your mac or vmware to run Vista and XP.

Cheers

Colin

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:59 am
by Antonio Linares
Colin,

> Thanks that worked great

good :-)

> Are you using parallels on your mac or vmware to run Vista and XP

I run OSX, Vista and Linux natively, all of them, to have the fastest speed :-)

Anyhow, I prefer vmware as I can use the same virtual machines files from Windows, OSX and Linux