Page 1 of 2
SQLite3 for [x]Harbour(mdy:2007.06.22:upgrade to 3.4.0)
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 9:09 am
by ssbbs
*2007.05.22: fix release.
If you use SQLite3, you don't need any .dll and can option your DB and use SQL statement.
like SELECT * from test... INSERT INTO ... DELETE FROM ... UPDATE ...
and only one file '.db'.
reference
http://www.sqlite.org
Now you can use it into your AP,
Download it from:
http://www4.zzz.com.tw/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=38.
This is a SQLite3 for xHarbour/Harbour CLASS.
SQLite speed can reference
http://www.sqlite.org/cvstrac/search?s= ... arison&w=1
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 2:52 pm
by James Bott
Last time I looked at SQLite it only had one field type-character. Has that changed?
James
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 3:38 am
by ssbbs
James Bott wrote:Last time I looked at SQLite it only had one field type-character. Has that changed?
James
What is 'one field type-character' ?
DO you say hbsqlite for sqlite2 ?
No, I'm rewrite it and use OOP method control it,
and up to sqlite3, so, You can use it like TMySQL ...
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 8:28 am
by hua
James wrote:Last time I looked at SQLite it only had one field type-character. Has that changed?
You can find the data types
here James.
From SQLite
FAQ,
"Multiple processes can have the same database open at the same time. Multiple processes can be doing a SELECT at the same time. But only one process can be making changes to the database at any moment in time, however."
Wouldn't this spell trouble for multi-user apps?
I'm interested in trying out
Firebird though. Anyone already using Firebird willing to share their experience?
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 8:36 am
by Antonio Linares
Is those databases engines support ADO, then you can easily manage them using the free ADORDD
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 8:59 am
by thefull
Antonio Linares wrote:Is those databases engines support ADO, then you can easily manage them using the free ADORDD
But... ADORDD is only for Windows.
SqliTe3 is multiplataform..
Regards.
Rafa Carmona
Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 9:03 am
by thefull
Please, you confirm type license ,it is GPL ?
I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 9:16 am
by ssbbs
Antonio Linares wrote:Is those databases engines support ADO, then you can easily manage them using the free ADORDD
aboriginal ADO for SQLite3 is need money.
If use ADO -> ODBC32 -> SQLite3 is free
Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 9:18 am
by ssbbs
thefull wrote:I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.
My post is for SQLite 3.3.17 (lastnew).
Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 9:59 am
by thefull
ssbbs wrote:thefull wrote:I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.
My post is for SQLite 3.3.17 (lastnew).
Welll, i accept 3.X.X, but you not respond a my question....
Is it FREE or NOT ?
Thank.
Re: SQLite3 for xHarbour/harbour
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 11:44 am
by ssbbs
thefull wrote:ssbbs wrote:thefull wrote:I'm interesting, i begin convert hbsqlite , job Alejandro Garate, but
version is for SQlite 2.8, and i want job 3.0.
My post is for SQLite 3.3.17 (lastnew).
Welll, i accept 3.X.X, but you not respond a my question....
Is it FREE or NOT ?
Thank.
Yes, it is freeware.
You can use it into your AP and don't pay money!!
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 4:23 pm
by James Bott
ssbbs,
>From SQLite FAQ, "Multiple processes can have the same database open at the same time. Multiple processes can be doing a SELECT at the same time. But only one process can be making changes to the database at any moment in time, however."
>Wouldn't this spell trouble for multi-user apps?
It is an issue, but it doesn't mean that it can't be used for a multiuser app. It does lock the entire database to make updates (more like makes it readonly). So, two users cannot make updates at exactly the same time, but this only takes a split second. For small numbers of users this may not be an issue at all.
So for smaller numbers of users it provides many advantages, some of which are (as you already mentioned) that all the data resides in one file and there is no separate setup or maintenance required. This makes it good for off-the-self applications for small companies that don't have full-time IT people.
You can use standard SQL syntax. And now that it supports numeric and blobs it looks even more interesting.
And the price is right! Free and royalty-free.
James
Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 4:46 pm
by ssbbs
James Bott wrote:
It is an issue, but it doesn't mean that it can't be used for a multiuser app. It does lock the entire database to make updates (more like makes it readonly). So, two users cannot make updates at exactly the same time, but this only takes a split second. For small numbers of users this may not be an issue at all.
full reference:
http://www.sqlite.org/faq.html#q7
YES!! SQLite3 can be use on multi-user,
But have some limit you must to deference.
SQLite3 have not server program to manage .DB,
So, it fix local .DB like 'DBF' to lock/unlock.
May be you have listen firebird embed, it's only one people can access it.
SQLite can let you access via multi-user but option like DBF.
I think this is enough!!
Posted: Sat May 12, 2007 6:22 am
by José Luis Sánchez
Hello:
Does your lib manage sqlite without any DLL,or I have to download the DLL version of Sqlite ?
Regards from Spain,
Posted: Sat May 12, 2007 11:32 am
by ssbbs
José Luis Sánchez wrote:Hello:
Does your lib manage sqlite without any DLL,or I have to download the DLL version of Sqlite ?
No!! Doesn't need any '.DLL'.
It's clean!!