Hello everyone. We have another company localize our resource (.rc) files, and they have a need to bind various revisions to our exe without having our source code, or even the objs. From the Borland documentation I would think that:
c:\borland\bcc55\bin\brc32 AppName.rc AppName.exe
would compile the .rc to .res, and bind the .res with the .exe. However, while the .res is produced, it is not bound to the .exe (the .exe is not updated at all). I took care to leave off the -r switch which is supposed to prevent binding of the .res to the .exe. I know binding a .res to an .exe was possible with the 16-bit Borland brc.exe utility. Does anyone know how to do it with the 32-bit Borland utilities, or what might be wrong with my syntax?
Thanks!
Binding A Resource File Without Relinking the exe
- PatrickWeisser
- Posts: 53
- Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 4:10 am
- Location: Seattle, WA, USA
- Contact:
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
- James Bott
- Posts: 4654
- Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
- Location: San Diego, California, USA
- Contact:
- PatrickWeisser
- Posts: 53
- Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 4:10 am
- Location: Seattle, WA, USA
- Contact:
Thanks Antonio, I will give the DLL approach a try, though I do prefer the way we have been doing it with a fully self-contained exe with no external code dependencies in which you have to worry that DLL's are all current when a user calls in with dialog anomalies. I've spent the past few hours doing Google searches for brc32 and reading a lot, and from what I can see this a well known bug with brc32. I know it's free software so we can't complain too much, but you would think Borland would have fixed it by now (it's been a problem for years). Is there an alternative to brc32 we could use? Surely resource compiling and binding can't be that obscure a task -- there must be many similar utilities.
James - thanks for your suggestion but whether or not we give our localization office an exe with a bound resource is not the issue. The bug in brc32 prevents them from binding their alternative resource files. They would have to use ilink32 and have our link file and obj's at the very least.
James - thanks for your suggestion but whether or not we give our localization office an exe with a bound resource is not the issue. The bug in brc32 prevents them from binding their alternative resource files. They would have to use ilink32 and have our link file and obj's at the very least.
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact:
- carlos vargas
- Posts: 1421
- Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 5:01 pm
- Location: Nicaragua
please traslate this
Quizas mi idea te sirva.
Existe una herramienta que es capaz de reemplazar recursos de un exe ya establecido, esta herramienta viene con algunos paquetes que hace un mod a windows xp, que se llama resource hack.
por ejemplo los mod de crystal lo utilizan para cambiar iconos, bitmap, dialogos, me inmagino que strings tambien, en estos mod _ los hace por comando no via gui segun he logrado ver.
http://delphi.icm.edu.pl/ftp/tools/ResHack.zip
salu2
carlos vargas
Quizas mi idea te sirva.
Existe una herramienta que es capaz de reemplazar recursos de un exe ya establecido, esta herramienta viene con algunos paquetes que hace un mod a windows xp, que se llama resource hack.
por ejemplo los mod de crystal lo utilizan para cambiar iconos, bitmap, dialogos, me inmagino que strings tambien, en estos mod _ los hace por comando no via gui segun he logrado ver.
http://delphi.icm.edu.pl/ftp/tools/ResHack.zip
salu2
carlos vargas
Salu2
Carlos Vargas
Desde Managua, Nicaragua (CA)
Carlos Vargas
Desde Managua, Nicaragua (CA)
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 37481
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Contact: