Page 1 of 1

illegal copy protection

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 1:09 pm
by damianodec
hi,
I'd like to protect my app.exe builded by FWH from illegal copy.
is there any FWH function?
have I to use others 3rd part program?
how do you protect your pgm?

thank you.

Re: illegal copy protection

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 2:27 pm
by Antonio Linares
Damiano,

You identify the netcard id of the computer where you are going to install it:

? GetNetCardID()[ 1 ]

then you modify your PRG this way:

if GetNetCardID()[ 1 ] != "THE_NETCARDID_OF_THE_PC" // use here the value you got above
MsgStop( "not authorized installation" )
quit
endif

Re: illegal copy protection

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 2:36 pm
by damianodec
thank you Antonio,
my customers download pgm from www site and I'd like to send them the key that works only on that pc.

Re: illegal copy protection

Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 2:41 pm
by Antonio Linares
the key that works only on that pc is the value of GetNetCardID()[ 1 ]

Re: illegal copy protection

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 3:28 pm
by ricardog
damianodec
Contactame rguardadof gmail dot com
nota: non parlo italiano

Re: illegal copy protection

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 6:16 pm
by TimStone
I don't want to deal with hardware ties because people get new computers and then I have to give them new ID's. Also, I provide my program as networkable and don't charge extra per workstation.

My clients print invoices and other data for their clients, so their name, address, and phone appear on that document. I use a keyfile system where the data is encrypted. The program then un-encrypts the record at startup and applies it while the program is running.

I also built an autoupdater that downloads the keyfile every 3 hours to be sure it is the current version. With this I can activate messages that support payments were not received, and thus support is no longer available, or shut off systems for license violations, or handle access for people renting the software ( SAAS ).

30 years ago I had a problem with software pirates. Once I went this route it all stopped.

For awhile I used SoftwareKey which actually can be setup to handle licenses, fees, demos, etc. online. It's only beneficial if you use their services to do the processing, and their credit card fees are significantly higher than what I get through my bank. However, their system does work, and removes you from any oversight problems.

Tim

Re: illegal copy protection

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 6:53 pm
by MOISES
Timm,

Please can you share how you do the upgrade? Antivirus usually block this kind of actions.

Thank you very much.

Re: illegal copy protection

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 11:04 pm
by TimStone
I have a small program that runs on their server ( or primary ) computer. It cycles every 3 hours. It reaches out to my server and downloads a "data" file that tells it if there are any updates, and also includes a very compressed file of their license data. In addition, after midnight, it runs a backup and a series of automated processes where it transmits contracted data to 3rd party companies ( if they use them ).

If there is a new executable file ( stored in zip format ), it is downloaded and uncompacted. ( I use this to also transfer help file updates, tax tables, etc ).

Because the server reaches out and downloads the files, Windows security has no problems with it. However, if they use 3rd party security it might have to be configured. I make it clear I provide no support for 3rd party security.

I actually started this process with a server in my garage, and a dial in connection, in the late 1980's. Now, of course, we use an internet connection to my hosted server. It is very fast, file sizes are small, so I never have any issues.

Tim

Re: illegal copy protection

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2021 8:05 am
by MOISES
Thank you very much Tim.

Please could you share the function you use to download the files over the internet?

Re: illegal copy protection

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2021 6:22 pm
by TimStone
Moises,

Sorry for the delay ... I run Win 10 using Parallels on an iMac and once again it has "gone down" due to an error ... and it takes the system days to fix itself.

I'll give the example when I get access again.

Tim