Page 1 of 1

bug TDataRow

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2019 6:02 pm
by MOISES
Hi,

In ADO, text fieds longer than 150 chars are truncated to 150 chars length.

Thank you.

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:31 pm
by nageswaragunupudi
Are you using FWH1412?

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:02 am
by MOISES
Yes.

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:03 am
by MOISES
Up, please

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:17 pm
by nageswaragunupudi
I have installed FWH14.12 and verified the code.

This is the behavior:
If the defined size of the field exceeds 100, the field is treated as Memo field.
We need to use GET MEMO/TEXT to get the values of the field.

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:18 pm
by MOISES
Thank your for your time.

With that solution, a new problem arises: when I select a memo field to edit, the cursor is placed in the position where I click.

However, in a normal text GET it always goes to the beginning, regardless of the click position.

The behaviour in MEMO should be the same.

At the resource level, in both cases they are defined this way: ES_AUTOHSCROLL | WS_BORDER | WS_TABSTOP

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:53 pm
by nageswaragunupudi
Do you want to treat the larger fields as character fields but not as memo fields?

What is the size of your VarChar fields? The present limit is 100 chars. Is a limit of 255 chars enough for you?

If I suggest modifications to the dararow.prg, will you be able to use the modified program in your project?

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:01 pm
by MOISES
Yes, that´s right. Thank you.

Yes, 255 Will be fine.

Yes, I am able to modify the source code. Also we will renew our FTDN.

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:05 pm
by nageswaragunupudi
Also we will renew our FTDN
If you renew, the present limitation is 255 chars. You need not modify your present datarow.prg
It is your choice.

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:12 pm
by MOISES
We need please this fix before updating, because updating will requiere further revision due changes.

Thank you.

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:44 pm
by nageswaragunupudi
You need to make these modifications in the METHOD ReadADO(...) in datarow.prg.
You will find this method from lines 596 to 693.

Please locate for "100" and replace with "255". You will find this at 4 places in the method.
Do not change anything outside this method.

Please try and let us know.

Re: bug TDataRow

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:49 pm
by MOISES
Thank you.

What about backing up and restoring tables to an external txt file via ADO, irrespective of DBMS? The lib does provide this feature now?
All the best,