Printer Form Length Problem

Post Reply
User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Printer Form Length Problem

Post by cdmmaui »

Hello,

Sorry to bring this up again but I am continue to have problems when trying to set the form length. The problem because when I upgraded to FWH 7.11 to 8.01. The problem is that the first form prints properly, however the second form does not feed properly. We have tried to create the same document in MS Word and Acrobat and it works fine so there is a problem with the FWH print system. The printer is an Okidata ML 320, 321 and 490 - all worked properly in version 7.11


Thank you in advance for your help.

Here are two samples.

1)

nWid := ROUND( nWid1 * 254, 0)
nLen := ROUND( nLen1 * 254, 0)
PrnSetSize(nWid, nLen )

PRINT oPrinter FROM USER PREVIEW PRINTER NAME "Grid Utility"

if empty( oPrinter:hDC )
return nil
endif

DEFINE FONT oFont NAME "Arial" SIZE 0,-10 OF oPrinter

if (nLay==1)
oPrinter:SetPortrait()
else
oPrinter:SetLandScape()
endif

PAGE

... Print data ...

ENDPAGE
oPrinter:SetPortrait()
ENDPRINT

nWid := ROUND( 8.5 * 254, 0)
nLen := ROUND( 11 * 254, 0)
PrnSetSize(nWid, nLen )


2)

PRINT oPrinter FROM USER PREVIEW PRINTER NAME "Grid Utility"

if empty( oPrinter:hDC )
return nil
endif

DEFINE FONT oFont NAME "Arial" SIZE 0,-10 OF oPrinter

nPWid := 254 * 8.5
nPHgt := 254 * 12
oPrinter:SetSize(nPWid, nPHgt) // 8.5 x 12 Inches...

if (nLay==1)
oPrinter:SetPortrait()
else
oPrinter:SetLandScape()
endif

PAGE

... Print data ...

ENDPAGE
oPrinter:SetPortrait()

nPWid := 254 * 8.5
nPHgt := 254 * 11
oPrinter:SetSize(nPWid, nPHgt) // 8.5 x 11 Inches...

ENDPRINT
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Post by James Bott »

Darrell,

I suggest comparing the printer.prg files from the two versions using a compare utility to see the differences. This should help you isolate the problem.

James
User avatar
Otto
Posts: 4470
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:07 pm
Contact:

Post by Otto »

Hello James,

may I ask what utility you use for comparing.
I always use ME then split screen and I go through manually.
Is there a better way?
Thanks in advance
Otto
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Post by James Bott »

Otto,

I use WinMerge. It highlights all the differences. Its a great tool.

It is free and can be downloaded here.

http://winmerge.org/

Regards,
James
hua
Posts: 861
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 2:27 am

Post by hua »

Otto wrote: may I ask what utility you use for comparing.
I'm using Beyond Compare. It's a commercial product but I'm very satisfied with it.
User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Post by cdmmaui »

Thank You, but this seems like a simple part of the application that should work
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Post by James Bott »

>Thank You, but this seems like a simple part of the application that should work.

OK. But it seems you are the only one that it is affecting. So, if you want a solution, doing a file compare is probably the fastest solution for you.
User avatar
cdmmaui
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:53 am
Location: The Woodlands - Dallas - Scottsdale - London
Contact:

Post by cdmmaui »

Hi James,

Thank you
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Darrell Ortiz
CDM Software Solutions, Inc.
https://www.cdmsoft.com
Post Reply