LINK ERROR: 19.09

Post Reply
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2536
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Contact:

LINK ERROR: 19.09

Post by TimStone »

When building my application ( Microsoft Visual Studio most recent version, FWH most recent version ). I get the following errors:
hbct.lib(trig.obj) : error LNK2005: _HB_FUN_ACOS already defined in g_server.obj
hbct.lib(trig.obj) : error LNK2005: _HB_FUN_ASIN already defined in g_server.obj
hbct.lib(trig.obj) : error LNK2005: _HB_FUN_COS already defined in g_server.obj
hbct.lib(trig.obj) : error LNK2005: _HB_FUN_COT already defined in g_server.obj
hbct.lib(trig.obj) : error LNK2005: _HB_FUN_PI already defined in g_server.obj
hbct.lib(trig.obj) : error LNK2005: _HB_FUN_SIN already defined in g_server.obj
hbct.lib(trig.obj) : error LNK2005: _HB_FUN_TAN already defined in g_server.obj
aMLS11.exe : fatal error LNK1169: one or more multiply defined symbols found

This is new to this version and has not surfaced for the years I have been assembling this program.
Last edited by TimStone on Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: LINK ERROR: 15.09

Post by Antonio Linares »

Tim,

You have to link hbct.lib from Harbour
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
Posts: 7355
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia
Contact:

Re: LINK ERROR: 15.09

Post by Enrico Maria Giordano »

No, those symbols are already defined, not undefined. What is g_server.obj and why it (re)defines those arithmetic functions?

EMG
User avatar
Silvio.Falconi
Posts: 4956
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:17 pm

Re: LINK ERROR: 15.09

Post by Silvio.Falconi »

seem g_server... google server... class of Cristobal ?
I use : FiveWin for Harbour August 2020 (Revision) - Harbour 3.2.0dev (r1712141320) - Bcc7.30 - xMate ver. 1.15.3 - PellesC
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: LINK ERROR: 15.09

Post by Antonio Linares »

Enrico,

Very good observation, thanks :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
cnavarro
Posts: 5792
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:25 pm
Location: España

Re: LINK ERROR: 15.09

Post by cnavarro »

Silvio.Falconi wrote:seem g_server... google server... class of Cristobal ?
No class or module of mine is called that.
C. Navarro
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
Si alguien te dice que algo no se puede hacer, recuerda que esta hablando de sus limitaciones, no de las tuyas.
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2536
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Contact:

Re: LINK ERROR: 19.09

Post by TimStone »

G_SERVER is a graph generating program I have used since 2004, and linked in with every single build of FWH --- until 15.09

G_SERVER and G_GRAPH were provided through GNU library to FW users. * Copyright 2002 David Arturo Macias Corona <dmacias@mail.udg.mx>

It has worked fine for me.

Suddenly something is different in 19.09, the latest release, which provides this error.

I cannot build my application until this is resolved. Some insight would be appreciated.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
AntoninoP
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:48 am
Location: Albenga, Italy
Contact:

Re: LINK ERROR: 19.09

Post by AntoninoP »

you can add /FORCE to linker, if you use hbmk2 the syntax should be -ldflag=/LINK, the best solution is comment out the duplicated functions from g_server.prg if you have the source.
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2536
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Contact:

Re: LINK ERROR: 19.09

Post by TimStone »

I did comment out the functions in G_Server and the graphs seem to work ... but maybe I need a different approach to graphs now.

What graphing functions are available in FWH 19.09 now that are working well ? ( I hate to think of rewriting a bunch of graphs ... but ...
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
Posts: 8017
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: LINK ERROR: 19.09

Post by nageswaragunupudi »

FWH was using the trigonometric functions PI(),COS(),SIN(), etc for a very long time in classes TGraph, XImage and Tselector. Probably you might have never used any of these classes in your programs. Had you used any of these classes, you would have faced this issue with earlier versions also.

In the current version imgtxtio.prg uses these functions for the first time and this module is compulsorily linked with all applications. That is the reason you faced this issue now.

FWH1909 introduced new charting functions for display, printing and also for the generation of PDFs. We will soon be introducing these functions by postings in the forums, but for now, you can see
http://forums.fivetechsupport.com/viewt ... =3&t=37819

If gserver library is providing more features, you are welcome to suggest and we will try to provide them soon.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2536
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Contact:

Re: LINK ERROR: 19.09

Post by TimStone »

Thank you for the explanation. I will work to eliminate using the old graphs and focus on FWH only. My graphs were very basic


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
User avatar
fafi
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 2:42 am

Re: LINK ERROR: 19.09

Post by fafi »

Please try :

In the Project’s Settings, add /FORCE:MULTIPLE to the Linker’s Command Line options.

From MSDN: "Use /FORCE:MULTIPLE to create an output file whether or not LINK finds more than one definition for a symbol."


regards
fafi
Post Reply