Setup Barcode system in FWH

User avatar
Marc Venken
Posts: 727
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:51 am

Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by Marc Venken »

There is written a lot about barcodes in the forum, but i'm new to it.

In my shop I have to count all products once a year for accounting issues.
Many products come with barcodes on it, EAN-13

Maybe this is a good starting point to start using them.

1. With hardware is best used in your opinion (I need a gun version for the shop, and one for reading on the ckechout (printing bills)
2. Any nice working sample that is doing these tasks allready
3. Actual printing routine for making the codes myself (there are some samples out here)

Any advice would help me...
Marc Venken
Using: FWH 20.08 with Harbour
jds
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by jds »

dear Marc,
I already asked the same question earlier but nobody could give me a simple answer.
When I was programming in Clipper87 or 5.0 in the nineties, it was easy to print barcodes using a library called "barlib" but I think there is no alternative within Harbour.
Thus, the same question: if someone can suggest me a simple way to print barcodes from any name or number, I would welcome it.
José (from Belgium)
User avatar
Rick Lipkin
Posts: 2397
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by Rick Lipkin »

Marc

I have used Barlib in the past .. give me your-mail address and I will send it to you.. you will probably have to re-compile the lib ..

Rick Lipkin
User avatar
Otto
Posts: 4470
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by Otto »

********************************************************************
mod harbour - Vamos a la conquista de la Web
modharbour.org

********************************************************************
jds
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by jds »

Rick,
My emailadress = deschutterjose@gmail.com to become the barcode library
Thanks
José
jds
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by jds »

Otto,
I have FW 9.11 but I do not find the easyreport prg that you say maing part of FW?? Or how can I update FW?
Kind regards
José (deschutterjose@gmail.com)
User avatar
FranciscoA
Posts: 1964
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:24 am
Location: Chinandega, Nicaragua, C.A.

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by FranciscoA »

José, mira lo siguiente. A mi me funcionó.
http://fivetechsupport.com/forums/viewt ... ilit=cmsof
Saludos.
Francisco J. Alegría P.
Chinandega, Nicaragua.

Fwxh1204-MySql-TMySql
User avatar
Marc Venken
Posts: 727
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:51 am

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by Marc Venken »

On top of the program :

#include "Barcode.ch"

In your mak file add :

echo $(FWDIR)\lib\BARLIB32.lib + >> b32.bc

If you need these files : marc at maveco dot be

I would suggest that you upgrade, because there is so much new stuff in FWH .... Great !!!

Code: Select all

function bartest()
  local opr, xStep, yStep, oBr, oFont
printer opr preview
define brush oBr color CLR_YELLOW
define font oFont name 'ARIAL' size 0,-8 of oPr
//oFont := TFont():New( "ARIAL", 0, -8, .F.,.t.,90,-2,,,,,,,,,oPr )
xStep:=oPr:nVertRes()/100
yStep:=oPr:nHorzRes()/5
page
//oPr:say(xStep*49,yStep*2.4,'BarCode Lib',oFOnt,2,CLR_GREEN)


@ 10*xStep,yStep/12 ean13 '7325930004328'of oPr BANNER font 'arial' // staat code eronder

@ 30*xStep,yStep*3.7 ean13 '7501157257703'of oPr color CLR_HRED BANNER FONT 'times'

// vertical

@ 20*xStep,yStep*3.7 ean13 '7501157257703'of oPr;
  color CLR_HRED vertical BANNER FONT 'times'



// BigCode

//@ 60*xStep,yStep ean13 '7501157257642' of oPr ;
//color CLR_BLUE width 0.1 size 7.5 banner font 'arial'

endpage

endprint
oBr:end()
oFOnt:end()

return

 
Marc Venken
Using: FWH 20.08 with Harbour
User avatar
Marc Venken
Posts: 727
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:51 am

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by Marc Venken »

Dag José,

Vanwaar ben je ? Ik van Opglabbeek, Limburg.
Marc Venken
Using: FWH 20.08 with Harbour
jds
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by jds »

Marc, dank voor de info
Ik ben van het Kortrijkse...een beetje verderop
Waar kan ik de barlib32 vinden?
grtjs
José
User avatar
Rick Lipkin
Posts: 2397
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by Rick Lipkin »

Jose

Gmail rejected the attachment .. I sent the library via a file hosting site Hightail.com .. The .lib is configured for Borland ..

Rick Lipkin
User avatar
Baxajaun
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:17 pm
Location: Gatika. Bizkaia

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by Baxajaun »

User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2536
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by TimStone »

Marc,

I'm sorry for not replying sooner. I have integrated the barcode reader into my system. All readers essentially provide "keyboard input", so if you have a field, you can scan a barcode ( connected to the computer ) and it will put the data into that field.

The products all have UPC. ( Universal Product Codes ) which may differ from the partnumber printed on the box. For that reason, I provide a partnumber field and a separate UPC field. I also developed a function so my barcode reader could scan in a code, and add it to an array on the computer, and then the array UPC numbers could be processed however you want. Many barcode readers now are wireless. Some are bluetooth, and some have a USB receiver. Some work over a long distance, others require a closer proximity.

Although I provided the option to print barcodes years ago, I really don't see anyone using that anymore. Most barcoding is done for inventory control and parts sales. Since they are already on the packages, there is no need to print them.

My clients use the barcode reader for vehicle ID numbers, and to place items into inventory, and later to sell them ( place on an invoice ).

Make a list of where you want to use barcodes, then find a reader that suits your needs, and can read the codes associated with the items you will be scanning. After that, programming routines for the reader will be simple. Just consider it to be like programming for typed input, but the reader actually replaces the keyboard in that field.

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 19.06 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019
User avatar
Otto
Posts: 4470
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by Otto »

Hello Tim,
do you have a solution to protect the input fields that are not intended for barcode.
Usually the barcode reader sends an "enter". Inadvertent use can easily close a dialog or window.
Kind regards
Otto
********************************************************************
mod harbour - Vamos a la conquista de la Web
modharbour.org

********************************************************************
jds
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Setup Barcode system in FWH

Post by jds »

Rick Lipkin wrote:Jose

Gmail rejected the attachment .. I sent the library via a file hosting site Hightail.com .. The .lib is configured for Borland ..

Rick Lipkin
Thank you Rick for sending me the barlib32 library.
By compiling and linking the example program I get a "linking error" saying that "the syntaxis of the filename, mapname or volume name is not correct"
What does that mean?
Thank you for an answer that could help me further
José
Post Reply