problems after update to MacOs 11.1 (Big Sur)

Post Reply
User avatar
plantenkennis
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 7:13 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

problems after update to MacOs 11.1 (Big Sur)

Post by plantenkennis »

Hello Antonio and Manuel,
After I updates MacOs to 11.1 some functions works different. I have a GET where users can type some characters in and after typing one character (bKeyDown) I launch a functio to search in the database and the focus must be back to the GET, behind the last typed character. In MacOs I used next code that worked perfect, but with MacOs 11.1 the cursor is placed on the first position.

Code: Select all

@ nScreenHeight-55, nRowPaint GET oGetZoek VAR cZoek OF oWndMain SIZE 100, 25
    oGetZoek:bKeyDown := { |nkey| IF (nKey < 127 .AND. nKey <> 13, (RK_Search(oGetZoek:GetText, nSortOrder), oGetZoek:SetFocus(), oGetZoek:SetSel(100,1)), ), IF (nKey == 13, oBrwMain:SetFocus(), ) }
 
It seems the SetSel() does not work anymore. Is there another solution for this.

Also, is there a way to compile the program for older OS versions. Now, when I compile the program, users can only use it if they have the same OS version. So users with MacOs 10.15 can't use my newest software anymore. I thought it had to do with the XCode version, but I use version 9.4.1 which is an older version.

Normally the programmer can set the version in XCode, but as we use the command prompt there has to be another way.
Kind regards,

René Koot
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: problems after update to MacOs 11.1 (Big Sur)

Post by Antonio Linares »

René,

I am installing Big Sur...
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
mastintin
Posts: 1502
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:06 pm

Re: problems after update to MacOs 11.1 (Big Sur)

Post by mastintin »

Also, is there a way to compile the program for older OS versions. Now, when I compile the program, users can only use it if they have the same OS version. So users with MacOs 10.15 can't use my newest software anymore. I thought it had to do with the XCode version, but I use version 9.4.1 which is an older version.

Normally the programmer can set the version in XCode, but as we use the command prompt there has to be another way.
For This you set the framework path to use in your makefile....
add in gcc line -F$(FRAMEPATH)

gcc $(PRG_OBJS) -o $(CONT_PATH)/MacOS/Plantenkennis -L$(FIVEMAC_PATH)/lib -lfive -lfivec -L$(HARBOUR_PATH)/lib $(HRBLIBS) -F$(FRAMEPATH) $(FRAMEWORKS)

fist define FRAMEPATH ...

SDKPATH=$(xcrun --sdk macosx10.13 --show-sdk-path)
FRAMEPATH=$(SDKPATH)/System/Library/Frameworks

if you use old framework , fist see if exist ... use console and prompt write "xcrun --sdk macos10.13 --show-sdk-path" (for macos10.13 )
if exist you change SDKPATH for your interest .
User avatar
plantenkennis
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 7:13 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: problems after update to MacOs 11.1 (Big Sur)

Post by plantenkennis »

Hello Manuel,
Thank you for this information. I have added the next lines to my makefile.

Code: Select all

SDKPATH=$(/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/SDKs/MacOSX10.14.sdk)
FRAMEPATH=$(SDKPATH)/System/Library/Frameworks
 
It seems I have to use the 10.14 sdk, because the 10.13 could not be found.

But how do I check if the program is compatible with MacOs 10.14? I don't have another computer to check this. Is there a command to check the minimum OSversion for apps.
Kind regards,

René Koot
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: problems after update to MacOs 11.1 (Big Sur)

Post by Antonio Linares »

René,

You may install VirtualBox and install OSX 10.14 on it to try your app

https://github.com/myspaghetti/macos-virtualbox

If you send me your app I will test it on OSX 10.14 :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
mastintin
Posts: 1502
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:06 pm

Re: problems after update to MacOs 11.1 (Big Sur)

Post by mastintin »

to force minimum version to compile add this flag :
-mmacosx-version-min=10.12 ( for 10.12 for sample )
This limit your app to macox10.12 and higher.
I use 10.13 if you need to know if an app works, I have no problem testing it.
cheers.
User avatar
mastintin
Posts: 1502
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:06 pm

Re: problems after update to MacOs 11.1 (Big Sur)

Post by mastintin »

your app not run in my mac .
For compile have you used --mmacosx-version-min=10.3 ?
This is important . Compile your app with thas flag and forward it to me.
your gcc line see :
gcc $(PRG_OBJS) -o $(CONT_PATH)/MacOS/Plantenkennis --mmacosx-version-min=10.3 -L$(FIVEMAC_PATH)/lib -lfive -lfivec -L$(HARBOUR_PATH)/lib $(HRBLIBS) -F$(FRAMEPATH) $(FRAMEWORKS)
User avatar
mastintin
Posts: 1502
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:06 pm

Re: problems after update to MacOs 11.1 (Big Sur)

Post by mastintin »

your app now it doesn't show the message it does not run on macosx 10.13 .in fact it runs , but it comes out immediately without giving any error.
¿?. I have no idea what could be happening.
If you want, you can send the whole project so I can compile it here to see if it works.
Cheers.
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 37481
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: problems after update to MacOs 11.1 (Big Sur)

Post by Antonio Linares »

René,

Please try this little change in function GetSetSelRange() in https://github.com/FiveTechSoft/fivemac ... api/gets.m

NSTextField * get = ( NSTextField * ) hb_parnll( 1 ); // this was hb_parnl( 1 ) please notice the double 'll'

many thanks for your feedback
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
Post Reply